Home

SAM_1850

SAM_1871

SAM_1872

SAM_1875

There’s a new burger in town so Team Aesthetic made it our mission to put it to the test. Let’s welcome the first British branch of Shake Shack.

The US burger fast food chain crossed over to our shores on July 5th amid a flurry of excitement. Located slap bang in the middle of Covent Garden Piazza, Shack Shack has a prime location. Now I have never been to the US and thus have not got a clue if the burger tastes better here or across the pond – I’ve heard from many sources we win in the taste department.

I queued up for 25 minutes on a weekday evening with sky high expectations and a growling stomach. I’m not fussed about queuing for food as long as I prepare myself in advance to do it plus a 20 minute estimated time isn’t really too long in a grand scale of things. London has an awful habit of making you queue for up to an hour. So as I eagerly scanned the menu I decided on a single ShackBurger, fries and Shack-made Lemonade and willed the queue to hurry up.

We finally managed to find a table and were given a buzzer as we waited to collect our food. On first impressions the chips looked tasty – I had slight regret I didn’t opt for cheese -, the burger was big – nothing worse than a shrunken burger – and the drink smelt citrusy. As I bit into the burger I was left feeling a little underwhelmed. Don’t get me wrong it was nice but I wasn’t blown away like I was when I first tasted a Meat Liquor burger. It just felt meh and a little bit of a waste of money if I’m honest. I spent £29 on two meals – one was a double for £9 – and I felt like I wasn’t really getting much more than McDonalds.

A double cheeseburger and fries from there would have left me with a lot more change in my pocket.  I get the quality of meat would be nicer but it didn’t taste all that nicer. Maybe I just believed the hype too much as after all,  it’s just fast food. On a more positive note the lemonade was amazing and i’d quite gladly drink gallons of it in this hot weather. The crinkle cut chips made a welcomed change from the skinny fries and got a massive thumbs up from me.

I would go again but I wouldn’t queue and only if I need a quick pit stop to stuff my face before my plans. Next time i’ll be sure to give the hotdog menu a try.

Shack Shake, Units 23/47 and 24 Market Building, Covent Garden Market, The Piazza, London, WC2E 8RD.

Sophie Warner is a fashion and lifestyle blogger who constantly thinks about various ways to stuff her face. As the health and lifestyle editor of Aesthetic she thrives on finding healthier alternatives to her favourite meals, filling her bedroom with vintage junk and exploring the delights of London Town. You can find her Tweeting at @sophiesophuk.

Leave a Reply

