Home

wimb-1

Hello, I’m Michelle and I’m a self-confessed lover of leather, hoarder of lipsticks and avid bookworm. I also founded, edit and dabble in writing Aesthetic magazine, born as a product of my degree. I’m 22, a Pisces and an utter klutz, and here’s a foray into the depths of my springtime handbag…

YesStyle Scallop Edge Satchel

I’m currently toting the YesStyle Scallop Edge Satchel as my handbag of choice. Sometimes I’ll swap things up for my faithful old Mulberry Alexa in Petticoat White or my Longchamp Le Pliage in Black, but right now – this has my heart.

Chanel Wallet in Quilted Lambskin

I pinch myself everyday that I have one of ‘these’. Gifted to me by two loving parents, I absolutely adore my purse, which houses notes (not that I really carry cash), my cards, business cards, photos of loved ones and a couple of hair grips. The lambskin leather is durable and buttery soft, and I adore the red lining and Chanel emblem on the front flap.

Marc by Marc Jacobs Coin Purse

Snapped this little beauty up the other week because my Chanel wallet doesn’t quite have enough room for lots of pennies, which is usually what I tout around. The snakeskin-esque finish is very SS13 and the half zip opening leads to the perfect amount of space for loose change, saving me from scrabbling around when paying for a coffee or car parking. Ah real life.

Whistles Cream Cardholder

Okay okay, three purses in one handbag is bordering on obsessive, I know. Hear me out on this though, I’m a loyal commuter (by chance, not choice) and this handy cardholder means I can keep my Oyster card, railcard, work pass and weekly tickets all in one place. I often slot my bank card in here too, which means I can grab and go if I’m really in a rush.

Filofax in Domino Mix

As a freelancer sort, I rarely go anywhere without my Filofax. I also have a Temperley London Filofax that is much smaller, but find this medium sized organiser does the job quite nicely at the moment. Nothing crazy to report, other than my reigning obsession with heart printed stationery and 3D stickers. So profesh.

YSL Rouge Volupte Lipstick in Rose Paris

I recently indulged in this lip colour whilst on a Post Office run. £28, a weeping purse (or three) and a gold boxed package later, and I’m one happy camper. This peachy pink shade is perfect for the summer months: I tend to dab it on and pat in, rather than apply directly from the bullet for a more natural finish. Applying a balm and exfoliating the lips before is a must because it tends to cling to dry patches.

Rules of Civility, by Amor Towles

At any given time, I’ll be reading a book or two. My current read is Rules of Civility, a slow-paced rework (or so it feels) of The Great Gatsby. I’m only two chapters in at the moment but I’ll be sure to keep you posted on my thoughts, the plot and whether it’s worth picking up.

Samsung Galaxy S3

My phone is my most beloved possession – I think. Now I’m not even slightly embarrassed. It’s pretty normal to be overly attached to your phone, right? I use mine to keep lists, text friends, check and write emails, and Tweet all the damn time. I also currently use a Caseable custom design case and an official Beast dustcap protector. Read more about my top Android app recommendations here.

iPod Touch 3rd Generation

My gawd this iPod needs replacing. A battered little touch screen baby, my iPod Touch comes absolutely everywhere with me. I’d take you through some of the artists I like and the playlists I’ve made (I should be a laptop DJ!) but it’d take me forever. Current favourite albums include: 2PM’s ‘Grown’, ‘What’s Your Name?’ from 4minute and BTOB’s ‘Second Confession’ digital single release. Notable mentions include Jay Park’s ‘Joah’ and BIGBANG’s Alive album still ranks highly despite it being released a year ago.

Michelle Chai is a self-confessed colour avoider, avid coffee enthusiast, multi-tasker extraordinaire and, by night, a regular fashion blogger at Daisybutter. She edits Aesthetic (both online and print) and really enjoys her ongoing quest for the perfect knit. FYI, this one came close to nabbing the title.

One thought on “What’s in my Bag? – Michelle

Leave a Reply

