Home

travel1

Packing and light. Two of the words most famously known for not meshing well.

Tomorrow I’m jetting off to Hong Kong on a slightly impromptu holiday for six days, and as soon as I’d dusted off my passport and lugged my suitcase down from the attic, my mind soon turned to the Packing Mission.

As we speak, temperatures in Hong Kong are soaring at an average of 23°. Nope, your eyes do not deceive. I’m thoroughly unprepared for non-transferable make-up, to say the least, with the last of my Benefit POREfessional having run out this morning. Convenient. On the duty-free To Buy list therefore goes a NARS primer.

I’m keeping everything else slick and compact, beauty packing wise. Face coverage is at a minimum when on holiday – I have bigger shopping fish to fry… In goes my trusty i-Code BB Cream for a dewy, light coverage to mask pesky morning redness and undereye circles. I’m also sliding my Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in the mix in case I need extra coverage. (We all know I’ll be too lazy.)

Recently I’m all about the statement eyeliner, a flush of colour to the cheeks and an understated lip. To keep my eye look slick and polished, my NARS stylo liner, Benefit They’re Real mascara and Urban Decay 24/7 plum eyeliner are all being swung in the mix. I’ll be keeping my cheek options open with my faithful Illamasqua Naked Rose blush and Elizabeth Arden bronzer. Topshop’s Head Over Heels may also wing its’ way in there. You can never have too many options…

Lips wise, I’ve got Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Aventure, Rimmel Apocalips in Stellar and a nude lip in the shape of MAC’s Hue for every occasion.

Michelle Chai is a self-confessed colour avoider, avid coffee enthusiast, multi-tasker extraordinaire and, by night, a regular fashion blogger at Daisybutter. She edits Aesthetic (both online and print) and really enjoys her ongoing quest for the perfect knit. FYI, this one came close to nabbing the title.

Leave a Reply

